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Public Protection Cabinet 

     Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction 
  Licensing Branch 

500 Mero Street 
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 

 (502) 573-2002    Fax: (502) 573-1598                                                                                              
 

ELEVATOR CONTRACTOR LICENSE APPLICATION 
 

Please type or print application.  Answer all questions on both sides of this application. 
An application fee is to be submitted payable to Kentucky State Treasurer. 

 
Check one of the following: Initial ($240)        Renewal ($240) License Number: _____________________ 

  
 
 

1. Name: ____________________________________________________________________   
                             Last                                      First                                               MI 
         Address: __________________________________________________________________                                                                   
                                                             (Street, Route or Box Number) 
        City: ______________________________ State: _________________ Zip: ____________                         
     
        County: _______________________________ Telephone: (_____) ______ - ___________ 
                  
        Date of Birth: ____ / ____ / ________  
 

Email Address:                                                                                  ________                     
 
 
2.   Company Name: _______________________________________________________________________________________            
                                                                                                                                                            

        Address: _____________________________________________________________________________________________             
                                                            (Street, Route or Box Number)      
        City: ____________________________________________ State: __________________________ Zip: _______________           
                      
      County: __________________________________________________ Telephone: (_______) _______ - ____________     
 
 Federal ID Number (Business): ___________________________________________________________________________          
 

3.  Attach proof of Liability insurance (Certificate of Insurance for general liability in an amount not less than $1,000,000 
     and property damage in an amount not less than $500,000) and proof of Worker’s Compensation insurance pursuant to  
     KRS 198B.4027.  List the Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction, Division of Building Codes Enforcement, 500 Mero 
Street, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 as certificate holder.  License cannot be issued without a certificate on file.  
 
4.   Provide verification of work experience as an elevator mechanic for a minimum of three (3) years as required by 815 KAR   
      4:030 Section 5.  (Begin with current employer or most recent work) 
 
    Employer Name   Address   From          To               Phone number      
   
 ________________________________________________________________________________________________    
    
 ________________________________________________________________________________________________     
                      
_________________________________________________________________________________________________   
 
5.   How many, if any, employees are to be employed by your elevator contractor business?  (Approximation, if actual number is  

 
    If a new applicant, 
attach a passport-sized, 

color photograph of 
applicant taken within 

the last six months.  
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      unknown at time of application) _______________ 
 

Please fill in each circle acknowledging that you have included the following: 

o Completed Application and required supplemental documentation (valid for one year from date of receipt). 

o Licensed Contractors are required to have at least one (1) licensed elevator mechanic associated with his/her license at 
all times.  When applying for a Contractor’s license, the associated mechanic license number(s) must be provided. 
Attach listing of associated mechanic(s) and license number(s). 

o Attach the required criminal background check conducted by the Department of Kentucky State Police (pursuant to 
KRS 198B.4011(1)(i)).  

o An initial application fee (submitted to the Department and payable to Kentucky State Treasurer). 
 
YES____ or NO____. I have (not) been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor in the Commonwealth of Kentucky, any other 
state, or the United States.  If you marked yes you have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, you might not be able to 
receive a Kentucky Elevator Contractor license at this time.  Please contact the Licensing Branch for further information. 
 
Pursuant to KRS 164.772, if you are in default of student loans backed by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance 
Authority, you cannot receive or renew an Elevator Contractor license unless specified conditions are met.  Please contact 
the Licensing Branch for further information. 
 

 
 
 
Applicant’s Signature: ________________________________________________________ Date: __________________ 
                                                                                                                          
                
 
  
 
 
 
 
              

 
 
 
 

For Office Use Only 
 
Date Received_____________________ 
Approved ________________________ 
Pending __________________________  
Elevator Contractor# ________________ 
Issue & Status _____________________ 
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Elevator Contractor License 
Initial Fee Chart 

 
Use the chart below to determine the correct fee for application.  The fee is based on your birth month and the 
month which you are applying.  Add the fees if you are applying for multiple licenses. 
 
 
Example:  If you were born in October and you are applying in July, then the Elevator Contractor application fee is 
$300.  This license would be valid for 15 months.  Each time you renew your license after your initial activation, your 
license will be valid for one year and will be subject to annual renewal in October (your birth month). 
 
 
 

 

Elevator Contractor License 

Month you are Applying 

 Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec 

B
irt

h 
M

on
th

 

Jan $240.00 $220.00 $200.00 $180.00 $160.00 $140.00 $360.00 $340.00 $320.00 $300.00 $280.00 $260.00 

Feb $260.00 $240.00 $220.00 $200.00 $180.00 $160.00 $140.00 $360.00 $340.00 $320.00 $300.00 $280.00 

Mar $280.00 $260.00 $240.00 $220.00 $200.00 $180.00 $160.00 $140.00 $360.00 $340.00 $320.00 $300.00 

Apr $300.00 $280.00 $260.00 $240.00 $220.00 $200.00 $180.00 $160.00 $140.00 $360.00 $340.00 $320.00 

May $320.00 $300.00 $280.00 $260.00 $240.00 $220.00 $200.00 $180.00 $160.00 $140.00 $360.00 $340.00 

Jun $340.00 $320.00 $300.00 $280.00 $260.00 $240.00 $220.00 $200.00 $180.00 $160.00 $140.00 $360.00 

Jul $360.00 $340.00 $320.00 $300.00 $280.00 $260.00 $240.00 $220.00 $200.00 $180.00 $160.00 $140.00 

Aug $140.00 $360.00 $340.00 $320.00 $300.00 $280.00 $260.00 $240.00 $220.00 $200.00 $180.00 $160.00 

Sep $160.00 $140.00 $360.00 $340.00 $320.00 $300.00 $280.00 $260.00 $240.00 $220.00 $200.00 $180.00 

Oct $180.00 $160.00 $140.00 $360.00 $340.00 $320.00 $300.00 $280.00 $260.00 $240.00 $220.00 $200.00 

Nov $200.00 $180.00 $160.00 $140.00 $360.00 $340.00 $320.00 $300.00 $280.00 $260.00 $240.00 $220.00 

Dec $220.00 $200.00 $180.00 $160.00 $140.00 $360.00 $340.00 $320.00 $300.00 $280.00 $260.00 $240.00 
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